Rural School Consolidation: The Consolidation and Reorganization Acts

by James McNary, Articles Editor
This content is for subscribers only. Log in or sign up for a free trial below.

The former Carlock school as it now stands in a farm field south of Dadeville. After being re-formed from the private Dadeville Academy, the Dadeville public school system consolidated with several rural districts, including Carlock, to form one of the earliest consolidated school districts in the state, Dadeville C-2. Other early consolidated districts in Dade County included Arcola C-1 and Pennsboro C-3. The C-2 district continued to operate the rural one-room schools for a number of years after consolidation, as did the Arcola and Pennsboro districts. (Photo by James McNary)